The Global Patient Alliance for Kidney Health’s Medical Advisory Council lends clinical perspective to GloPAKH’s advocacy programming and helps identify unmet needs that can be addressed through heightened awareness and policy solutions.

Navdeep Tangri, MD, PhD, FRCPChair
Professor, Division of Nephrology, Department of Medicine and Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba, Canada

Dr. Tangri’s main research interest revolves around improving clinical decision-making for patients with advanced chronic kidney disease. His efforts in understanding CKD led to the development of the Kidney Failure Risk Equation, used worldwide to predict the need for dialysis in patients with CKD. He has received many awards, including the CIHR New Investigator Award and a CIHR Foundation award for his work on CKD progression. He is a member of the editorial board of the American Journal of Kidney Disease, the Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, and the Canadian Journal of Kidney Health and Disease, as well as Section Editor for the Epidemiology and Prevention Issue of Current Opinion in Nephrology and Hypertension.

Alberto Ortiz, MD, PhD
Chief of the Department of Nephrology and Hypertension, University Hospital and Research Institute Fundación Jiménez Díaz, Spain

Dr. Ortiz is a professor of Medicine at Universidad Autonoma de Madrid. He also serves as chair of the ERA Registry,  ERA Council member and ERA Clinical Science chair-elect. Dr. Ortiz coordinates the Spanish Kidney Research Network (REDINREN, RICORS2040) and the editorial board of the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology.

Manisha Sahay, MBBS, MD, DNB
Professor and Head, Department of Nephrology, Osmania General Hospital & Osmania Medical College, India

Dr. Sahay is the vice president of the Women in Nephrology India chapter and deputy chair at the International Society of Nephrology. She is a fellow at the Fellow Royal College of Physicians and the associate editor at the Indian Journal of Nephrology. She has received numerous awards and has 175 publications.

Merle Clarke, MD
Nephrologist, Owen King European Union Hospital and Tapion Hospital, Saint Lucia, President of the Saint Lucia Medical and Dental Association

Dr. Clarke won the 2023 ISN Pioneer Award for North America, Carribean – recognizing outstanding and sustained contributions to establishing and developing kidney care in the emerging regions of the world. She campaigns for CKD prevention and healthier lifestyles and is a member of numerous internal societies, including a distinguished fellow of the American Society of Nephrology, patron of the Saint Lucia Renal Association and member of the Saint Lucia Diabetes and Hypertension Association.

Ming-hui Zhao, MD, PhD
Director of Institute of Nephrology, Peking University, Professor of Medicine, and Chief Physician at Peking University First Hospital, China

Dr. Zhao is the president of the Chinese Preventive Medicine Association for Kidney Disease, vice president of the Chinese Society of Nephrology and president of the Beijing Immunology Society. He also serves on the executive committee of the Asian-Pacific Society of Nephrology. He has received numerous awards for his work, including the French National Academy of Medicine-Servie, Wu Jieping-Paul Janssen Medical & Pharmaceutical Award, Chinese Medical Science Prize and Chinese Preventive Medicine Prize. He is the deputy editor of the Chinese Journal of Nephrology and the Chinese Journal of Internal Medicine and an editorial board member of the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology.

Patrick Mark, MD, PhD
Professor of Nephrology and Honorary Consultant Nephrologist at the Glasgow Renal and Transplant Unit, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Scotland

Dr. Mark is a professor of Nephrology at the University of Glasgow and undertakes clinical work at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow. He leads many clinical trials in nephrology. He is fortunate to have supervised several brilliant younger research fellows and was until recently the Chief Scientist Office Scotland Clinical Lead for Renal Research. His PhD, awarded the Bellahouston Medal for outstanding thesis by medical graduate, was funded by a British Heart Foundation Junior Clinical Fellowship.

Roberto Pecoits-Filho, MD, PhD
Distinguished Research Scientist at Arbor Research Collaborative for Health in the USA; Emeritus Professor of Nephrology, Catholic University of Paraná State in Brazil

Dr. Pecoits-Filho is a distinguished research scientist at Arbor Research Collaborative for Health in Michigan where he is the scientific director of the DOPPS Program. He is emeritus professor at the Catholic University of Paraná and the scientific leader for clinical trials for North and Latin America with George Clinical. Currently, he is the deputy chair of the International Society of Nephrology’s iNET CKD consortium of CKD cohorts and the past chair of ISN’s Education Working Group. He has been part of the ISN and KDIGO’s executive committees. He has published over 400 papers in international-indexed journals and lectured in over 40 countries around the world. 

Victorine Bandolo Nzana, MD
Senior lecturer at the Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences of the University of Yaounde and a consultant nephrologist at the Yaounde Central Hospital, Cameroon

Dr Nzana is a member of the International Society of Nephrology. She is co-chair of the African Association of Nephrology (AFRAN) Young Nephrology Committee and a secretary general of Women in Nephrology in Africa (WIN-A). She is also a coinvestigator for H3 Africa Kidney Disease Research Network: Sickle cell anemia.